Tags

Ahk
What up yall. Eleanor Roosevelt once said Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people. The 2nd interview I did I got a chance to interview the former Strictly Hip Hop host I interact with the most. Ahk is my dude, we quite often get a chance to chop it up over music. Sometimes it’s “Yo did you hear blah blah blah?” “Yeah.” ”What you think?” But a lot of our conversations talk about where hip hop is heading, why, how can it get better and so on and so forth. It’s like a question of the week every time I see him. I figure I’d get a chance to ask him some question for Your Opinion Is Wrong. The Strictly anniversary gave me that chance. Here’s what he had say:

Who are you in relation to Strictly Hip-Hop?
My name is Ahk. I hosted and co-produced Strictly Hip Hop between the years of 2002 to 2011. I’ve been involved with the show since 2001. I started out as an intern for Vegas doing the Question of the Week.

What is your favorite Strictly Hip-Hop moment?

Florida rapping during the Anniversary in 2011.

What are you up to now?
Nothing.
Nah…I’m joking. I’m the executive producer on a music project involving Vegas and a producer named McLovin from Third Infantry Productions. Vegas can rhyme his ass off and really drive home concepts. Third Infantry has produced for Mully Man, Waka Flocka Flames, Caddy Da Don, OJ Da Juiceman, etc…I’ve paired Vegas up with McLovin, who is the latest inductee into the Third Infantry fold. The tentative name of the project is “He can Rhyme…I’ll Sing”. As executive producer, I step in to provide input as far as beat selection, song concepts, and overall organization of the project. We are in the recording phase for the project, and everything is running smooth, so far so good. For updates on that you can always hit up http://www.hiphopolitic.com or http://www.mclovinbeatz.com.
And there you have it: Ahk, without his African cousin shooting down somebody’s dreams. Be sure to tune in this Friday night (technically Saturday) at midnight for the Strictly Hip Hop 23rd Anniversary 24 hour celebration. Check it out locally on 88.9 FM, or anywhere at weaa.org or on the TuneIn app on all androids or iPhones. Peace #YOIW

