Tags

, , ,

me n murs
What up yall. With the 2nd installment of Emcees You Should Know, I’m featuring west coast rapper Murs (pictured above with yours truly). On my 25th birthday, I found myself in Best Buy browsing the music section. Mind you at the time The Listening by Little Brother was all I played. I see this album from some rapper featuring Little Brother’s in house producer 9th Wonder, I had a pocket full of money so I grabbed it, and it was $9.99 so it wasn’t a huge risk. Great album, and after listening to Murs 3:16 the 9th Edition, he had a new fan. He once rapped: Now I step through the door in the flyest pair of Dunks/Quit lyin, you ain’t seen these at Foot Locker, chump. The west coast homie got bars, and he’s a legit checked sneakerhead. He is also unafraid to address unconventional topics with joints like “Dark Skin White Girls”, or tell stories like he did on “Walk Like a Man”. He’s a dope emcee that ain’t afraid to trade bars with the best of ‘em, like he did on “The Animal” with the 1st emcee you should know, Phonte. Check him out, dude has a pretty deep catalog, some of which I have yet to check out, dude is highly recommended.

Discogaphy

Solo
F’Real (1997)
Good Music (1999)
Murs Rules the World (2000)
Murs Is My Best Friend (2001)
The End of the Beginning (2003)
Murs for President (2008)
Love & Rockets, Volume 1: The Transformation (2011)
Yumiko: Curse of the Merch Girl (2012)

With 9th Wonder
Murs 3:16: The 9th Edition (2004)
Murray’s Revenge (2006)
Sweet Lord (2008)
Fornever (2010)
The Final Adventure (2012)

Miscellaneous Collabos
Pals w/ The Netherworlds (2001)
Melrose w/ Terrace Martin (2011)
Ths Generation w/ Fashawn (2012)

