Tags

, ,

gza
What up yall. Today is Wednesday, November 8, 1995. I bought Liquid Swords by the GZA last night from Sam Goody. The Source gave it 4.5 mics so I know it’s gonna be hard. I’m a huge Wu fan and they haven’t let me down yet. The Meth was hard, I love the Ol’ Dirty album and the Raekwon is one of the best albums I’ve ever heard. Let me crack this cellophane and pop this in my Discman, I had to grab some new Koss headphones too because one ear went dead in my other ones. The booklet that comes with the CD has some dope artwork. So let’s get into the CD. It starts off with a scene from Shogun Assassin, nice dark feel, very RZA. The track that follows is a head nodder and GZA gets busy immediately, it’s a great way to start the album. “Duel of the Iron Mic” is a trio of the less vocal Wu members as far as the press and interviews are concerned, with the loudest member on the hook, good balance. GZA, Masta Killa and Inspectah Deck do this RZA track complete justice, I could listen to a whole project from this trio. Track three, “Living in the World Today”, is a boom bap joint, not the usually busy, complex RZA joint. A kick, snare and a sampled horn drive this joint, and GZA rides it well. Gold is a very typical RZA composition. It’s an eerie track that allows GZA and his commanding voice to run all over this track. “Gold” starts with Meth talking street life with another very aggressive track that The Genius goes in on. I usually don’t go for sung hooks in my hip hop but I like the chorus on “Cold World”. GZA has another story to tell about New Year’s Eve in the projects, Deck follows up with a dope verse to complete the cypher. “Labels” is a concept joint. GZA flexes his Emcee muscle putting the names of different record imprints and brands into his rap here. “4th Chamber”, in my opinion, is the very definition of the Wu Tang sound. Another dope excerpt from Shogun Assassin and Ghostface set this joint off. Killah Priest, RZA and GZA follow up over a whiney synth sounds and a crazy guitar. Wow, this joint “Shadowboxin’” feat. Meth, is HARD. Meth is the cameo king and this joint shows why. I love how RZA know exactly how to complement the combination Wu Gambinos on each song. An interesting Mafioso skit where Prince Rakeem is working on his acting chops called “Hell’s Wind Staff” precedes the next song. RZA crafts another set of synthesizer chords over a kick and a snare as not to overpower GZA’s bars. “Investigative Reports” puts U-God in his perfect place, relegated to hook duty, it also lets Ghost get loose on the track. On “Swordsman” GZA talks about gaining knowledge of self while kicking one of the more memorable hooks on the album. “I Gotcha Back” sounds so New York to me, while still maintaining that RZA/WuTang sound. “B.I.B.L.E. (Basic Instruction Before Leaving Earth)” is a perfect bow to put on top of this album. It has the most fully composed feel of any song on the album and isn’t even a GZA joint. Killah Priest talks about his religious journey; he’s a smart guy, well versed in biblical text. There is not a single fall off or filler joint on this disc. I have to go 10 out of 10 here, definitely a classic that will have replay value 18 years from now. I can’t wait to play this for Kendel or get Mike to play this in the Fun Flyer. Anyway, Algebra II is almost over, and I’m going over Grummas house after school today after the BSU meeting. Peace #YOIW

