Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

rock-the-bells 10What up yall. Welcome to the 75th edition of Your Opinion Is Wrong. EVERYBODY that knows me knows I do dig the Hip-Hop music. And people tha know me personally, know I enjoy concert going. My copilot (Mrs. Your Opinion Is Wrong) and I, have been to see Blackstar, Gangstar, Common, Floetry, Little Brother, Slaughterhouse, Dialated People, Murs, Rakim, KRS One, Jean Grae, De La Soul and hosts of other acts and performers over the years. It’s one of the things we like to do together. Once it started coming to the area, we became annual attendees of the Rock the Bells touring Hip Hop festival. Two stages of all types of Hip Hop, with a focus on “Golden Era” (’91-’99) and “Backpack” Hip Hop, invade the metro area every year, until two years ago.
Two years ago the good folks of Guerilla Union decided to trade in the Meriwether Post Pavilion date for a venue in Boston. For some reason, I’d like to think karma, the Boston dates didn’t work out. The first year they decided not to do Columbia, the line-up was so dope we decided to head to the New York date and make a trip of it. Hands down the best concert experience of my life, even though I smelled so much ganja smoke there I swear I was hungry for the last 2 hours of the show, which included a Nas performance that had DJ Premier and Pete Rock as the DJs and a live rendition of Live At The BBQ. The line-up the following year was so boring I opted out, especially since I would have had to make another trip of it, to Jersey this time.
That brings us to this year, 2013, the 10th anniversary of the festival. Last night was the announcement show to reveal the dates, venues and artist for 2013. And guess what, Rock the Bells makes its triumphant return to the DMV. This year it’s a two day affair with a pretty good line-up. Black Hippy, Talib Kweli (who has a dope album out right now), Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, and Wu-Tang Clan were announced last night. There will also be holograms of easy-E and Ol’ Dirty Bastard to assist with the performances. September 28th or 29th, I’m there dude. With more artists still to be named, this year seems to be making up for last year’s short comings. RTB, which I deemed dead last year RIP Bells has been resurrected. I hope yall come and party with me out there. It aint nothing like Hip Hop music, word to Stetsasonic, and if you aint down with that, I got four words for ya…Your Opinion Is Wrong. Peace

