Tags

, , , , , ,

What up yall…if you watched Raw 1000 last night after reading my post yesterday, you’re welcome. Anyway about a week ago I talked about buying my son an Alvin and the Chipmunks DVD. He loves the songs on there, but one thing he doesn’t know about is the original theme to the show from the 80’s. “C-H-I-P-M-U-N-K, we’re the chipmunks, guaranteed to brighten your day…” that was my song on Saturday mornings. There were a lot of dope theme songs just on Saturday mornings, Galaxy High, Kidd Video, The Smurfs, The Snorks, Spiderman (the one with Iceman and Firestar), and of course my favorite cartoon theme of all time: Muppet Babies. When I got older I wasn’t much into the ‘toons as much. I was a sitcom guy, TGIF on Friday nights, if my Mom and Sal (sorry mom) weren’t bowling, was the move. Those shows always had dope theme songs and good characters and catchy lyrics. It is in the spirit of TGIF and those themes I bring you my top 10 TV theme songs (that have lyrics).
10. The Flintstones – Other than them wanting to have a gay old time this was classic (jokes). I liked that there were different verses for the opening and closing. Fun song, easily recognized, classic.
9. Married With Children – As soon as you hear the music start and see that fountain you are ready for a half hour with Al, Peg, Bud and Kelly. A very smooth calm theme song that contrasts the rough exploits of a shoe salesman and his family. The lounge lizard croons “…this I tell you brother, you can’t have one without the other, love and marriage”. Another classic, but keep your hand out of your pants.
8. WKRP in Cincinnati – I love this easy listening joint. “Baby, if you’ve ever wondered, wondered whatever became of me, I’m living on the air in Cincinnati, Cincinnati, WKRP.” Do I even have to explain that, that’s timeless.  Makes me wanna put on my Venus Flytrap jacket and roll up the sleeves.

7.  Growing Pains – “As long as we got each other…” you gotta sing along with that joint.  Almost sounds like some blue eyed soul.  This one definitely had some feeling and emotion to it.  Over throwback pictures of all the Seavers, this really made you feel a certain kinda way.  Good stuff.

6.  The Jeffersons – This is a part of the fabric of our country.  This classic theme song has been quoted to no end.  “…Movin’ on up to the east side, to a deluxe apartment in the sky hi hi” what’s messing with that?  Couple that with the Negro spiritual humming at the end and you have the making of an all time great TV theme.  And there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that.

5.  The Greatest American Hero – For some reason, I don’t know why, this one make me just feel good, like I’m actually “walking on air”.  It’s definitely a feel good joint.  Ralph Hinkley might be one of the worst dressed superheroes ever, but it’s a great song.  As a matter of fact I’m going to go out on a limb and say the song was way better than the show. Believe it or not…

4.  Three’s Company – “Come and knock on my door…” the little guitar riff that starts this is the epitome of catchy.  When I was a kid I just knew it was Jack Tripper singing this one. So classic.  This song makes me want to put on a Hawaiian shirt and cruise on down to the Regal Beagle with Larry.

3.  Good Times – I know there will be anger and outrage that this isn’t number one but…uhh…so what.  I do love this one though.  It also has a strong feeling to it, very heavy content.  The funny part though is this one can scare the crap out of you.  You ever get a long break between shows and this one comes on screaming at you?  It’ll catch you off guard.  But the lyrics say it all:  “keeping your head above water, making a wave when you can.”  DY-NO-MITE!!!

2.  Cheers – “Where everybody knows your name”.  This joint has a classic change of pace.  It starts off all slow and quiet and turns into a celebration of bar life.  Who doesn’t know this one?  Biz Markie routinely spins this during his set, that’s how you know this is a pop culture phenomenon.  It’s classic.  The piano on this needs no explanation, when you hear it; you immediately could use a beer.  “Taking a break from all your worries sure would help a lot”

And the winner is…

  1. The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air – Easily one of the most, if not the most recognizable TV themes period.  “Innnnnnn west Philadelphia, born and raised…”  If you can’t complete that line I don’t care nothin’ bout you.  I love that the mamma in the credits looks nothing like Will’s mom on the show but who was that?!  I’m guessing they had some extra footage from the “Parents Just Don’t Understand video.  Anybody remember the extended/long form version with Will on the plane?  Anyway with Will on the rhymes and Quincy Jones on the beat, you can’t lose.

There you have it, my top ten.  Heading to the ballpark this evening for my first O’s game with my son, I’m a week away from vacation and there are 43 days until Dallas Cowboy football.  If you don’t like it, Your Opinion Is Wrong.  Peace

