Tags

,

OK, everybody knows I’m a music snob, but it’s not my fault.  People make me this way; a lot of y’all listen to some crap.  Two things I hate to hear is “Hey, you didn’t grow up like that so you wouldn’t understand it” and any argument for a RAPPER’S value that starts with “He can’t rap but…”.  Are you serious? So it’s OK to like a rapper that isn’t good at…RAP.  C’mon buddy get outta here.  But let’s tackle the first argument.  OK I grew up in Hanover, Maryland off a dirt road.  Not near a dope strip, not in a poppin’ hood, not even in a nice neighborhood with a few knucleheads.  I never sold a nick, never ran a niggas pockets, and I’m glad it never came to that for me.  I grew up in the boonies, and I am proud of that.  That being said, there have been emcees that spit bars about banging green, pushin’ white and serving that brown in very creative ways.  I can appreciate that.  T.I. is a dope rapper that got trap bars, but HE CAN RAP.  I usually don’t gravitate toward that sort of stuff but I will recognize skill.  Waka, Two Chains, Gucci mane?! Naw I’m not gonna be able to do it.  I might play some of the instrumentals; they have knocking tracks but I WILL NOT LISTEN TO A RAPPER THAT CANT RAP!!!!  F that.  I don’t care about your adlibs, where’s your bars nigga!!!!!  I’ve also be accused of being age biased ( @matthdamon @AirRetro_DK5 @Getemlifted09 @AhkiDaGR8 @Dropajewel ).  It is said I don’t like any young/new rappers.  This is just not true.  Don’t get me wrong I don’t like most of what’s new but there are some diamonds in the rough.  J. Cole is a dope rapper, a shade boring on his album but HE CAN RAP.   Drake flat out is nice…period.  Kendrick Lamar is a beast.  As a matter of fact as I type this that Joey Bada$$ 1999 (17 year old with BARS, who is looking forward to his senior in high school) is on knock in my office.    People say thing like you can’t hold certain rappers to the same standard as other rappers…Clay Davis yall niggas…Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!  Music comes in two categories good and bad, as determined by the listener.  And if you can’t get with that I got four words for ya, YOUR OPINION IS WRONG. Peace

